Lemelson-MIT announces collegiate competition winners, including MIT’s NVBots


The Lemelson-MIT Program, founded by prolific inventor Jerome H. Lemelson to inspire young people “to pursue creative lives and careers through invention,” announced the winners yesterday for its prestigious Lemelson-MIT National Collegiate Student Prize Competition.

The Lemelson-MIT Program awarded a combined $50,000 in prizes to the most inventive undergraduate and graduate students in the country. The winning undergraduate teams receive $10,000 awards while the graduate student winners receive$15,000.

“The national expansion of the Lemelson-MIT National Collegiate Student Prize Competition revealed world-changing ideas from inventive and entrepreneurial students across the country,” Joshua Schuler, the executive director of the Lemelson-MIT Program, said in a statement.

“This year’s winners are at the forefront of technological invention in healthcare and consumer devices,” he added.

In the “Cure it!” category for students working on technology to improve healthcare, the graduate level winner was David Sengeh of MIT who designed a process for customizing prosthetic devices using a combination of quantitative and human data, MRIs, and 3D printing.

The undergraduate winners in the “Cure it!” category was a team from Clemson University led by Tyler Ovington. The Clemson Bioengineering team developed a product called GlucoSense, which is a low cost glucometer and test strip system that allows the strips to be printed by standard inkjet printers. Other members of the team include Alex Devon and Kayla Gainey.

In the “Use it!” category for inventions that can improve consumer devices and tools, the graduate winner was Ben Peters of MIT who developed a “digital mold,” a high resolution, reconfigurable molding surface that can be used for commercial manufacturing, prototyping, and do-it-yourself personalized fabrication.

The undergraduate “Use it!” winner was also a team from MIT, which was led by Christopher Haid, and includes Mateo Pena Doll, AJ Perez, and Forrest Pieper.

The group is better known as the company NVBots, which offers easy-to-use 3D printers designed for the classroom. NVBots printers are already being used at some Boston-area high schools.

In addition to winning the $10,000 prize, Perez of NVBots told BetaBoston that Professor Michael Cima, the chair of the Lemelson Foundation and known for his role as a co-inventor of 3D printing, joined NVBots’ advisory board.

Dennis Keohane was a Senior Staff Writer for BetaBoston.
Follow Dennis on Twitter - Google+